Sweet Potato Sky

By sweetpotatosky

The Paw

Today was my last day at work and, true to form, nothing went right the entire day.

I work near Penicuik and any of you from that part of town know what the weather was like this morning and early afternoon. The place was virtually shut down since the snow was so bad. Where I work has a huge car park which became very snowed under, very quickly! People were skidding every which way and getting their cars stuck. You honestly couldn't have predicted how bad it was going to be. So we spent a lot of the morning deciding if we were going to stick it out or just go home. Hardly anyone was in the whole building since most people did the sensible thing and stayed at home. But since I live somewhere there was little to no snow this morning, I had no idea how bad it was, so ventured in.

When we all decided we'd shut the day short, it went pretty quickly. Sadly I didn't get to say goodbye to a lot of people who couldn't make it in but that's life. I'm going to pop back in next week for my P45 etc and will see them then. I did feel a little bad when they said they'd ordered something for me (I assume flowers) that wouldn't arrive because of the weather, and the other half of my present was with the finance manager who was stuck at home! They all looked very guilty but, like I said, today's weather was very out of the ordinary and no one knew how bad it would be.

I got a really lovely card though with some nice messages in it and shared the things I got from tenants with the staff. It is sad that I won't be working there any longer but I'm a firm believer in onward and upward. A month ago I didn't know how I was going to break the news to my boss that I was leaving! But I managed it. If I can get over my guilt complex to do that, I can do anything. ;)

We were also meant to be going out for drinks etc tonight but since everyone was snowed in it was cancelled. Instead I've spent the evening cuddled up with the kitties. My happy place. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.