ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Journey to the Cross

For me, the culmination of Good Friday was an exquisite vigil at the Nicolson Square site of the CEMC.

Here the choir are warming up in the position from which they sang for the first hour. After, we enjoyed another three hours of quiet, until midnight. Throughout we were provoked by images projected onto the wall, and accompanied by gentle music. Many thanks to Laurent.

I had spent the day wandering the streets and hills of Edinburgh: making my solitary way. The streets were busy today. But apart from meeting Peter over lunch, I had been alone. I chose that today.

When Jesus journeyed to calvary, burdened by the cross, he was surrounded by people. And yet, in many ways he was alone.

In the quietness at the end of the day, I felt two lonely sojourners had come (once again) to a place of meeting.

When that happens, then it is good to be still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.