A week in the life of Adam Cotter: Sunday

Off to my gran's for tea tonight.

Yes, I do know there are people who'd call it dinner, or even supper, but I'm not going to visit those people. Gran calls it tea, and that's good enough for me. So I'm going for my tea.

Vegetable soup for starters, followed by sliced roast beef and veg. It'll be out the freezer and microwaved, with scoops of mash and carrots and sprouts that have been boiled to mush. Gran will tell me - again - that she likes to roast a joint of beef and freeze slices of it in gravy. Very economical, see?

I've no reason to doubt her, but in all the time I've been going. I've never seen the actual joint ... just the microwaved leftovers.

Then, of course, trifle for afters.

I love it. And if you think I'm taking the piss, you're wrong. It's a meal you can depend on, one that always tastes like home.

You think I'm only going round because gran remembered my birthday? Well that's maybe part of the reason, I admit. But I like going round to see her; like I say, my gran's alright.

And since mum and dad moved down to Kent, she's the only family I've got in this bloody town. It always strikes me as pretty unfair that they wanted to bring me up in this godforsaken hole, but when they got the chance, they didn't really want to stick around. Doesn't say much about the place, does it?



Story starts here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.