The commune's fish pond

I've been working at home today, mostly at the laptop. When run out of inspiration and lift my gaze I see this lovely poster which is stuck on the wall above. Such bounty from the fish pond! Such happy workers all merrily toiling together!

It was painted by Dong Zhengyi in 1973 - I must have bought the poster in the Chinese art shop in Oxford some time in the 80s. Although it's yellowing at the edges the colours have stayed very vivid - the photo doesn't really do it justice.

I also found lots more posters to look at here - this one is part of the China as Paradise theme along with the The Brigade's Ducks. The least snappy title I've noticed so far must be Deepen the criticism of Deng Xiaoping, strike against the right deviationist wind of reversing verdicts.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.