blipped

By blip

My First Blip

There are always rocking beginning, and today was no different. The day started out by me on a nearly soaked pillow, snoozing the alarm twice. Prepared breakfast unusually opposite of other days, where I take bath and leave for work by the time my vital are showing signs of being awake. My boy was at his craziest morning regime or at least thats what I realized today because I had to finish his morning routines.
By the time I dropped him at his pick-up point, I had soaked into a stream of self evolving pool of sweat. Though I must say it was worth it. I was happy that I had been able to ship him off to the play school, while i was walking back I saw a rider on his geared cycle ride by. That was the moment that I told to myself, let me also not procrastinate and show some gutso. With a spring in my step, I rushed to the house, sorted my gear and was off with the same enthusiasm of my boy. After few pedals on, realized the strength of the bright sun at 9 AM was just enough to break my will and my back at the same time. I edged on only to the amusement of the school going kids, moms and strolling folks. I felt like a cyclist participating in the Iron-man kind of races, the attention was helping me in a good way.

I said to myself, the first rides are the most difficult ones. Everything becomes easy once you do it and I guess that did half the job and the rest was done by the occasional downhill. The downhill made me gear-up(literally and figuratively) for the uphill which will soon come.

Certainly the fun of cycling brought back the memories from childhood, which bestowed the nostalgia of being the fastest one in the locality. I remember, I had a small cycle, however regardless of that was the fastest in whole colony. Used to beat everyone with bigger and better cycles. Never thought then that I would be cycling to work. Never thought that cycling would be a way of being environmental friendly. Never thought that it would reduce the carbon footprint. That time carbon was the only source of copying notes from a student(XEROX was unknown)and footprint used to be what grandma used to shout about, mostly it being at wrong places. Fairly different from todays definition as well as implications.

Note to myself:
- Start early,
- reduce load from tomorrow.
- It would be more fun tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.