ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Proper Job

Spring Harvest finished yesterday. Rather than head directly back to Edinburgh, I chose to spend a few days in Saltash, where I grew up.

Today was whiled away on a walk around the coast at the mouth of the Yealm. We began and finished at Noss Mayo, taking a late lunch at The Ship Inn. Being a cider drinker, I was relieved not to be driving, as it meant that I could enjoy an authentic Westcountry beverage with my meal. Chris had a beer. Paul was driving- but doesn't drink in any case.

As we were talking and eating I cast my eye over Paul's shouder, back to the bar area. The ales on offer reminded me of some thoughts that have been sparked off over the past week...

I am a person who starts things. Once in motion, I tend just to let things happen. This has been true of me throughout life, although only recently have I begun to consiously explore this in the choices I make.

I am a person who starts things. When I was young, Paul and I made a good team. I'd be the one who said- "let's do it!". Paul would work out how to follow things through. More recently, I've been on a number of holidays where I've mixed different groups of friends (Blipped about this before [13/03/10]). It has been a great pleasure to introduce these folk, and then sit back and enjoy watching them get to know each other.

I am a person who starts things. The Methodist congregation of which I am part in Edinburgh is at a point where there are many possibilities presenting themselves. I've been keen to get involved in exploring these things, recognising that I am good at "beginning". We are now hurtling (or at least it feels like 'hurtling') towards a time where decision is required. And with that comes commitment.

Increasingly, I am getting the sense that God would have me commit to these things personally- More than the implied commitment of being part of the congregation concerned. I am not at all sure of the shape of that commitment, but I feel led to a cliff edge. And I'm running scared.

So often I have begun things with the words "How hard can it be?". That attitude gets things started, but shows no sense of responsibility for what is to come. It demonstrates no love for the people who will be affected by what is begun.

Starting is easy: I know that. Finishing is hard. Faced with options, God is able to bless whichever path we chose. Of that I am certain. The real question is whether we are able to see the journey through, once we have picked a road. In the past others have travelled onwards, so I've not had to. But I am becoming convinced that this time, it is for me do.

God requires this one to be a Proper Job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.