Stop It & Shut Up

By janesomers

"Hello, Stichill 274..."

That is what we used to say when we'd answer the house phone when I was I child. We had a wall mounted bakerlite in the kitchen, it was just like this one and had a very short telephone number.

Growing up, I was dumped, did the dumping, was asked out, cried into, made disco arrangements, talked to the police, learned the facts of life and talked to my grandma on a telephone like this one.

When we renovated the kitchen in this house nostalgia got the better of me and I bought this reconditioned one.

Unfortunately although it works, the other person's voice is very quiet at the other end (too quiet for a hectic noisy family) and it can cause severe finger discomfort to dial anything other than 999. Not that I know any numbers these days as they are big long numbers which are digitally stored in our Panasonic KX-TCA120E with caller display.

Still, it's ring pleases me and I like the thought of one day making a phone call and playing with the cord again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.