Don't blink!

That's a reference to Doctor Who for anybody who didn't know. An episode in one of the previous series was about the "Weeping Angels" and it was one of only a few episodes that have made me very jumpy. We watched another one tonight, new series, and the angels were back, and made me just as jumpy.

Good job then that I hadn't been reminded that statues are actually malevolent beings from outer space before Corin and I stumbled across this fellow in the gardens at Erddig Hall today.

We had made the most of the good weather, and a James free afternoon, and took a jaunt down to North Wales to take advantage of our National Trust membership. We are getting older, that's for sure!

The last time I went to Erddig was on a school trip when I was in my final year at primary school - so 26 years ago. We also went to Powys Castle on that trip, and I remember, vividly and with some glee, that a girl who was in our class, and who was supposed to be a friend, but was actually a bully, got stung by a hornet - Oh boy did we hear her scream! I'm clearly evil and horrible that I hang on to that memory and that it makes me smile, but I also remember how she bullied me at high school, so I have to have something that serves as a little revenge memory (even though it happened before she bullied me - it was probably my fault somehow that she got stung - she was that sort of a girl!).

It's a beautiful place and we have had a lovely afternoon ambling around the gardens and the Mansion house together.

A child free afternoon. Wonderful, but riddled with guilt for being child free! The rest of the photos are on the link above or here if you missed it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.