This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

The potential of today

I am in the dark again, but it is not too early. Small patches of sky now show through the dense leaves outside my window. The sky is gun metal grey at this moment. I am listening to Wreckless Eric on my headphones, but that is soon to change... Let's see...now it is The Soft Pack's cover of Phoenix's fences. I could listen to this on repeat for a while, just a perfect sound for me in this moment.

First, a dash of yesterday. After my wonderful Friday, there was no point in even trying to make Saturday something amazing- it was just a mellow day and I was happy with it. I enjoyed the rain, the strange clouds, and the sick yellow light when the rain would stop. I watched the wild wind twist through the thick honeysuckle in waves. Everything seems greener and thicker this spring.

I watched an interesting film; Strange Culture, about an artist who was put on trial for his work regarding genetically modified food, after his wife dies of natural causes (a heart attack), he is suspected of being a bio-terrorist. This took place during George W's reign of course, and it was just shocking. An odd film/documentary with the real folks as well as actors speaking for the characters involved due to the ongoing legal issues at the time of filming.

Today, I have some important art related business to tackle. I am applying for a grant for some of my recent small works on paper. The book of stills: a manual for living. My state gives away fairly large grants each year in certain categories, and the application is due the first week of May. So, I better get on it. I have the ten pieces documented, it is just a matter of sizing them correctly as per the application, and coming up with a statement specifically for these works.

I also need to print the three Picher photographs that were accepted in the Crafting Place exhibition, and mat and frame them. Since I never show my photographs, framing is a whole new animal for me to tackle. I am so grateful there is no framing involved in my paintings. Once these two main things are tackled, I have a host of art biz emails to return, the Underground blog to update and face book events to create for next months exhibitions at the galleries. So, while Friday was extravagant and Saturday mellow, Sunday is going to be a working day. I am actually looking forward to it. I just need some good music, some tea, and some patience. It will all get done.

The day is young.

Thanks again to everyone who stops by and looks at my images, or has been reading my journal since it turned into one at the beginning of the month. I really appreciate your time and comments. I have fallen a bit behind in my comments- I apologize, I do enjoy your worlds.

I've said it before and I will say it again, you all are a lovely bunch.
Now, I better take a photograph and get some soy milk for my tea.

x.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.