Plus ça change...

By SooB

Birds, Ladybirds and flipping the bird

I had a pot in the back yard that didn't have holes in the bottom, and through the winter has developed a layer of smelly dirty water on top. Today, just as I was thinking it was finally time to stop tipping it out every now and then, and just empty the pot properly, I saw that the local birds were queuing up to bathe in it. I have provided an alternative, and cleaner, bathing option now (which I'm sure they'll ignore). While sorting all that out I noticed some ladybirds hanging about on last year's lavender flower stems.

In town this afternoon to take Conor to his annual (and slightly pointless) allergy and asthma clinic - where I say he's not getting any allergy tests (they are painful and don't really give any definitive answers) and the doctor says that's fair enough and off I go.

Today we had a different doctor who is going to set up an egg challenge for Conor. This is not Conor versus an egg in some celebrity death match (just as well really - my money would be on the egg) but where he sits in hospital all day being fed increasingly large amounts of egg while doctors stand around with epipens just in case. Should be entertaining. (Not)

On the way home we popped into Sainsburys where some kids on a bike nearly mowed Conor down on a pavement. I pointed out (really politely) that they shouldn't be on the pavement, and was flipped the proverbial - along with a stream of what I can only presume were obscenities (he wasn't making much sense). I finally got to use the phrase I've been wanting to use for so long "aye, and do you kiss your granny with that mouth". His friend thought it was funny.

The obscenity-wielding kid looked like he was still in primary school. Does it really start that young? Sometimes I feel very old and naive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.