iPhone tag with life

By PaulHagen

Supervised study

Not a great shot technically (iPhones aren't that great in low light, even with help from apps like CameraFlash) or artistically. I have no illusions about that. But if blipping is supposed to be about documenting our lives, the scene you see here was where I spent pretty much the whole weekend.

I used to record a lot of live music about a decade ago. Decided to get back into it to capture the (wildly diverse) concerts I bring in for our campus community here at Episcopal Homes (senior homes and services). My thought is to put together a compilation CD called something like "Live at Coventry Chapel." It could be given as gifts to our residents, etc.

Anyhow, the technology has changed for live recording. Laptops have replaced the finicky Digital Audio Tape (DAT) recorders of yore. Editing the shows and getting them onto CDs involves learning to use new software (in this case, Pro Tools LE). Not rocket science, but there's still a steep learning curve, and that's what I was climbing all weekend.

As you can see, Bronson was all about supervising my studies. The good news is that he didn't try to curl up on my keyboard.

On the techno side, I used a Photoshop plug-in called Kodak Digital Gem Pro to minimize the considerable noise in this low-light picture. Do you have any pet noise reduction software I should know about? Noise is a big fact of life with iPhone cameras. Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.