surely you can see

By petergarver

I typically don't enjoy this low-angle late evening light - I'm always waiting for the little pools of sunshine to die down for flat light.

However, today I decided that perspective is completely wrong. In monochrome, the late evening light sparkles and brings a delightful life to everything it hits. It's soft, only a stop or two brighter than the diffuse light, and while I've always hated it in color for being thousands of degrees cooler, in mono that's just fine!

If I had learned nothing else this month, this would be worth it.

(It is, of course, a lesson I should have learned on August 4th, when I took that picture with low-angle post-dawn light lighting the wall and not the parking lot, but it's a lot easier to see in a circumstance like this)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.