Long Slow Distance

By platanos

Spy on High

You wouldn't normally notice this character, perched on high, although it's a sizeable appliance that juts out dramatically from this burnt brick building in Lewes.

I've been trying to snap this camera for some weeks, but every time I raise my camera to my eye, the damn thing swivels around with a very audible whirr of its motor, and catches me red handed. This time, by skulking in a doorway, I succeeded in capturing it unawares.

I'm not sure whether its purpose is to monitor the traffic at the crossroads over which it is poised, or whether its brief is broader... either way, I'm not so sure it's a bad thing, if it manages to record a crime taking place, or even saves lives.

But if I should disappear from society suddenly, perhaps you'll know why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.