Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Caribe

A wave of hot air greeted me when I stepped into Santa Marta like a sauna. I've arrived on the Northern tip of South America. Santa Marta is one of the oldest and historic cities in Colombia apparently, but these days is forgotten and host few visitors. It is like the neglected step child to the beauty and grandeur of Cartagena further West.

Being back on the Caribbean I'm greeted by familiar nostalgia. People and animals lie languid as snakes perspiring in the shade from the warm wet air. Palm fronds ripple slightly with the whisper of rare teasing breezes and fish shacks dot the rubbish strewn boulevards.

I found a gorgeous guest house outside of Santa Marta in a place called Taganga, a bit of a beach party town it seems but this place is pure oasis. I've finally found my hammock on the sea to sink into and watch the sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.