surely you can see

By petergarver

I'm sitting here these evening trying to pick out a few pictures to print, and I thought it would be a nice diversion to pick a shot from today and post a blip. And wow, it was really nice working with this one.

I tend to take shots using boring, ordinary focal lengths (like 20mm-40mm or so on a DSLR - just a shade on either side of normal) and lots of depth of field, trying not to ask the nice lens properties to do too much for me.

Every once in a while, though, I whip out the 90mm macro lens - both a macro and a telephoto, with great optics (horrible coatings though - no contrast at all).

This lens makes me understand all too well the appeal of telephotos and macros! The tonality and delicious out-of-focus effect from concentrating on such a small subject are so easy to work with and so great. I feel guilty, like I'm cheating. But hey, whatev.

I thought it was cute that this girl's name was etched into her bike. I'm guessing she's probably 40-50 years old now, and may or may not remember the quirky rod-brake 20 inch bike she rode as a kid. But we'll fix it up.

edit: I decided to use lightroom's stock "Antique light" preset on this one...I mean...I'm never going to use it ever again for anything else, so I might as well get one run out of it. :)

edit2: ahh I can't take it anymore! Back to black and white. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.