Family Dog

By Family_Dog

where does it stop? no-one knows...

A lovely (freezing) day spent down at the rather, ever so slightly right-on-fab-and-groovy PLU festivalat Leith Links with Boyface and my other bechildrened friends.

I don't mean to be mean about this festival, I'm not saying it's not a lovely idea and I'm not saying I'll not go back. But I will say that if I didn't have children there is no way on earth I'd ever set foot in that place. No siree, Bob that aint my style.

Anyway - I am bechilded (I do know that is not a word, don't worry) and so I did go there. My reasons were threefold. 1 - Arlo got invited a friend's birthday party down there, 2 - A lot of my lovely friends were going to be there and 3 - I had nothing else to do. So off we popped.

It started off badly (the party. Oof. That's what I get for trying to mix with people I don't know to give my child a good time with other children. I have plenty of people I do know with children that I will never stray from again).

Then it got really good (the pint in the pub after) - for all those bechildrened people out there, this is a great pub with a license for the under 5s (you know those evil little blemishes on society that need to be hidden away from the normal functioning part of the world that don't want to see children while they're eating nice food and drinking alcohol? Those wee beasties?) and it has an outdoor drinking / dining area that is lurverly and gets the sun (when there is some).

Then it went bad again (we got a flat tyre) and I had to walk home with the sun pelting on my face and then it got good again when we went for a wonderful meal here: to celebrate friends getting married.

I was nervous about going as I didn't know a soul and after the day's earlier hellish attempts at mingling with strangers I wasn't feeling positive about doing it again. However, this time there was wine and like minded strangers and the evening was just lovely. I ended up speaking to a guy called Heronimo for most of the night (who gets called Hero for short! What a name!) and learning lots about Spain, Cuba, Peru, South Africa, Israel and India (given that of the 39 of us, only 6 of us were from the UK!).

Lovely. The merry-go-round of life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.