Chasing ...

sunsets, NOT sheep before anyone suggests it.

Have had an exceptionally lazy day in many respects. I have kept my boys fed and watered. I have done five loads of laundry. But beyond that, I have spent most of my day sat reading my book. Not quite finished it...might be bathtime reading though.

My some sheer fluke yesterday I stumbled across the feature in Photomatix that lets you create a "pseudo HDR" from a single raw file. Those of you who are seasoned pros will of course be smacking your foreheads and saying "durr, have you never used that". I confess - didn't even know it was there. However, now I DO and that means that I can spend less time worrying about bracketed exposures and getting things to line up properly!

To that end, this evening I went out to get petrol and took my camera. I went looking for things to take photos of and didn't set the AEB function on my camera to snap 3 at a time. Felt quite liberating. Firstly I stopped on the business park and took shots of a water featurethat isn't often switched on, but when it is it looks smashing.

Then, after five minutes, and thinking that a security guard might pop up from somewhere and ask me why I was taking photos, I hopped into the car and spotted, behind the trees, the telltale red glow of a glorious sunset. So I chased it. Literally. It was like the wacky races. The problem being that there are few places to park (legally or safely) where the line of sight was any good. I ended up in a village about 3 miles away from our house, down some windy country lanes, parked in a side road and dashed over to stand by the fence and worry some sheep. To be fair, they didn't seem that bothered.

Have had an hour choosing shots, running them through the pseudoHDR feature and am just uploading a small selection to here.

Have a good night everyone. This week, I will be mostly keeping my fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.