LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Hopeman

Thank you so much to those of you who took the time and trouble to comment on my birthday blip yesterday. I can't tell you how pleased I was to read the lovely things said. I could hardly get my jumper over my head this morning, so swollen was it.

But another day dawns and the heat wave did really feel like a heat wave despite the cloudy skies.
We made a fairly early start to drive up to Elgin in Moray to visit son#1 and the twins Anna and Finlay. This was daughter- in- law #1's day at work since they share the parenting, so unfortunately we missed seeing her.

But first of all we had to visit Johnstone's woollen mill near the ruined cathedral to breakfast on carrot cake and banana cake.We felt we needed the calorie intake to deal with 2 indefatigable 4 year olds. And so it was. They are delightful but exhausting, and that was only observing.

We ate lunch in the garden amongst the tent, the trampoline , the climbing frame and numerous small tractors and bicycles, while they showed off their skills at climbing, bouncing and general running around while eating only a crumb or two.
Why is it we retired adults need to eat salad and quiche and millionaire's shortbread just to have the energy to sit and watch?

Then it was a drive to the beach at Hopeman on the coast. The sea was calm and there was no wind, and few people taking advantage of the conditions.
I love the colourful beach huts on the dunes there. Somehow I feel they would be more suited to somewhere on the south coast than on the coast of the Moray Firth.

Anna and Finlay ran in and out of the rock pools and raced the wavelets as Alasdair and I discussed DIY and how difficult it is to hang wall paper while you are on a ladder balanced on the stairs and leaning on a high wall. I only hope he has good life insurance.

Once the children were thoroughly soaked, there was a change of clothes, a drive back to Elgin, another cup of tea and it was time to say our farewells and return to the peace and tranquility of our holiday house.

And to think we did all of this in our hey day and didn't feel as exhausted as we do now just watching.
I'm recovering with a G&T before I start the supper. I wonder if the twins will be eating anything. They seem to thrive on empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.