4Boys4Girls

By 4Boys4Girls

Not so easy this macro stuff

I have a 200mm macro lens I've had for a while but never seem to take out and try. Anyway the sun was lighting up the cherry tree just perfectly so I thought I'd try and do a macro shot of one of the millions of cheery blossoms.


After a dozen or so shots, Leo climbed the tree and suggested I take one of him. Just as well as all the flower shots were out of focus.

I tried again with a tripod, but the new carbon fiber one I bought was not up to the weight of the D3 with the 200mm lens, and the remote shutter release cable I bought from Amazon was dead on arrival. And now I see that the sensor in the D3 is absolutely filthy.

Oh well, I did manage a shot of Leo which I like.

Anyone reading this who wants to give me some tips on taking macro shots -- feel free to jump in.

If anyone wants to see some OOF shots of flowers, which I sent to Smugmug to remind me of the potential of macro, they are over here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.