A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Trouble with Lichen

The bug has not yet let go of its grip, despite my foray out yesterday, so I was once more confined to the garden for my blip.

I have tried several times, today and previously, to get a good picture of the Clematis Montana at the very back of our garden. Several obstacles have made it difficult; the height it is growing at the top of the wall and the plants at its base make it difficult for me to reach; the wire supports it is being trained on are not very scenic and the houses across the road don't make a brilliant back drop and finally I have been trying to get the flowers and the lichen covered wall in focus as it is rather beautiful in itself.

The wall is over one hundred years old and is the original boundary of the properties built here in the early '60s. It borders what were once meadows surrounding the Glebe land and vicarage.

As you can see in the end I decided to concentrate on the lichen covered Yorkshire sandstone and just have the odd flower as incidental foreground - the wall was there first!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.