Snapping Aboot

By rxpell

Ferryhill Railway Viaduct

Headed down to the river at lunch time to try and get a snap for this week's ABZ blipfoto challenge - River Dee Bridges. My choice is the Ferryhill Railway Viaduct, not seen in its best light on a dull day like today and not very elegant but its been here since 1850 carrying the railway from the South across the Dee into Aberdeen. As originally built there were wooden spans but these were replaced by the steel ones we see today in order to carry heavier trains.

More detailed info on this bridge here

Now, while this may not be a great pic, I'm happy I went to get it as I hadn't been at the Winter Gardens in Duthie Park for ages and stopped in on the way and even a quick 10 minute visit there gave me plenty ideas for future blips :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.