VACATION EYES

By vacationeyes

different drummer

"The orchestra is the ultimate instrument, and conducting one is an unbelievable sensation. Nothing else is like it, except maybe singing doo-wop harmony and hearing the chords come out right.
"From the podium (if the orchestra is playing well), the music sounds so good that if you listen to it, you'll fuck up. When I'm conducting I have to force myself not to listen, and think about what I'm doing with my hand and where the cues go."
"'Conducting' is when you draw 'designs' in the nowhere - with a stick or with your hands - which is interpreted as 'instructional messages' by guys wearing bow ties who wish they were fishing."


Frank Zappa

this man was all alone in a big soccer field (alright, football pitch), marching back and forth from goal to goal, drumming away. must be practicing for the big parade. or maybe this is just his thing. zappa would probably love this guy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.