Nicky

By nicky

Out with the pink

I've had a busy day today. I 've got a few days off work to do some decorating upstairs before new carpets come on Friday. So today I painted the fushia pink bedroom that Paul will use with a more manly 'Natural Hessian'. I was amazed that two coats seems to have covered up the nasty pink, although perhaps when it has fully dried tomorrow it may need just one more coat. The gloss is all done too - just the ceiling to go, although I probably should've done this before the walls. Oh well, never mind. At least it will all get done.

I also had an aerial man round today to replace my aerial so that I can get better tv reception. However, when he went up the ladder with the new aerial, he couldn't get a good signal at all for Freeview, which was really disappointing. I can't imagine living in a house without decent tv, and it just didn't occur to me to ask before I bought it. However, he went away and came back with a Freesat dish and that seems to get a much better signal, so he's coming back tomorrow with a slightly larger one just to make sure. Trouble is, I'll have to buy a new Freesat receiver and hard disk recorder, which won't be cheap. It seems to be all money going out at the moment.

The final bill was to have the boiler serviced. Thankfully, although it is the original boiler and so now about 25 years old, the plumber said that it is in very good condition considering its age and could keep me going for a while, unless it breaks down in which case it may well be impossible to get any spare parts for it now. So my fingers are well and truly crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.