From Where One Stands

By cassandra

Race for Life and cider and chips.

There is nothing impressive or artistic about this photo, but it is what I did today and that's why I chose it.

Today I did the Race for Life. Ok, so there was not much running involved, but I did it non the less. I powerwalked, and jogged a tiny bit, but I never stopped and I ran over the finishing line.

To many, that probably does not seem like much, but 3 months ago I wouldnt have thought I could do even that. Id been very ill over Christmas and for the months after, and it is only now that I am able to do anything strenuous. So no, I didnt run it, I didnt really race it, but I did it, and raised some money. Me and my Mum, in memory of those we have lost.

(The cider and chips was our reward to ourselves after, at a lovely country pub. And while probably not the best of things to have straight after, GOD did they taste good!)

And next year we have vowed to run it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.