Lyra's life in pictures

By Lyra

The Secret Life of Babies

Lyra must have been secretly practising standing up and crawling when I wasn't looking. She has proved herself to be a champion stander-upper today - standing for about five minutes whilst hanging onto this horse (which is not hers, I must find one) As you can see, Daddy is on hand to catch her but it really wasn't necessary. (Mummy wasn't on hand at all, too busy cursing about the camera batteries dying then remembering her trusty iPhone).

Lyra has also discovered that it would be a good idea to try and pull herself up - using of all things the very hard hearth in our living room that looks like it was specifically put in to split open the heads of small children. She didn't manage to get to standing yet but she came terrifyingly close, without me noticing her trying...

She has also suddenly decided that she knows how to crawl. It's a bit of an un-dainty affair but she is definitely up on all fours and using two legs and two hands. I think I can officially say she can crawl now - though she reverts to commando style when after something in a hurry (generally a cat's tail). She's not doing too bad as she's not even seven months yet. She has a lot to live up to though - my mother told me on the phone last night that I read Tess of the D'Urbervilles aloud to her when I was four.


---


A part of me feels sad to post today's entry and to lose the very exciting red balloons... but only another 99 to go until I can enjoy them again! Thank you for all the lovely comments yesterday and welcome to the handful of new subscribers. I hope Lyra will continue to bring a smile to your face as she works towards 200 blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.