From Where One Stands

By cassandra

Ruby Tuesday

I often hear people say 'it took my breath away'. It is an over-used cliche.

But when I drove over the brink of a hill tonight and saw this beautiful field, FULL of vibrant red poppies, it truly did take my breath. I have never seen anything like this before, it was truly beautiful.

I pulled over (what else could I do!) and spent about 5-10 mins amongst nature at its most beautiful. It was a magical experience.

I would have felt totally at peace amongst this beauty, had it not been for two rather unpleasant dealings with members of the public, which tainted it rather. People seem to think that, when they see something of beauty, that they have a right to it, regardless of others. They are unwilling to wait, to pause, to share. And this is such a sad reflection of modern life.

Yet there were others in the field who stood, waited and relished in the beauty, and for those people I give thanks. Those people saved the moment.

And it truly was a moment of beauty. Nature at its finest, in-spite of mankind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.