Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Old English Trifle

I used to do a lot of dinner parties and Sunday lunches, then things got busier both for me and my friends and it stopped happening.

Now we all have a bit more time on our hands because of the recession so decided to push the boat out and prepare a good old fashioned feast for this afternoon.

Menu:

Home cured Gravad Lax
Beef Wellington with potatoes and asparagus
and this, the piece de resistance, an Old English Trifle

It's taken me about three days to make as it first involves making a Victoria sponge.
Cut up with raspberry jam as a base, crushed macaroons, then stewed rhubarb. The next layer is proper custard made with eggs a vanilla pod and milk. Then topped off with double cream.

This cream wasn't as dense as it was the last time I made the recipe (must be due to cutbacks), so I sprinkled some sugar on the surface so the cherries, toasted almongs and baubles don't sink too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.