Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Keg Toss

Today I went to the Washington Brewers Festival at St. Edward Park in Seatlle, with my son, Tim. It was raining lightly when he met me at the train station in Edmonds. By the time we got to the festival site at 11:00 AM, it was pouring. We staked out a couple of chairs under a canopy and took turns fetching beer samples. Around 1:00 PM the rain stopped and we started walking around to try to get warm.

In spite of the weather, we had a great time. According to the program, there were close to 200 beers on offer. We didn't come close to tasting that many, but I think we did quite well for amateurs. Tim introduced me to a couple of his friends and I introduced him to some of my Green Frog friends from Bellingham. I made sure to stop by the Boundary Bay stand to say hello to Janet (general manager) and Ed (proprietor).

The keg tossing competition was something I hadn't seen before. I was surprised to see this competitor facing away from the target and throwing the keg back over his head. I didn't stay long enough to see if anybody else did it that way -- we had more important things to do.

I was very relaxed on the train ride back to Bellingham, and finally saw the sun at 9:00 PM, just before it sank into the Salish Sea.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.