Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Moonwalk Marshalling

A year ago today I had my bra on show, talking about my motivation for walking 26.2 miles through the night in a decorated bra.

Well this year I decided to take a break from the walking, but wanting to do something I decided to volunteer as a marshal.

It was a very busy day. I had planned to stay up late and then sleep until midday but was wide awake by 9am. Headed for the farmer's market to meet my old flatmate B who's leaving for 3 months in america next week. Back home for a nap (only that didn't happen either). Out for dinner with B before heading to Moonwalk city to clock on for my 14 hour shift at 8:30pm.

We checked in, got our crew t-shirts and hats and were briefed on our roles for the evening. There was a quick chance for a cup of tea before we headed to our posts. Myself and my friend K (who was one of the girls I walked with last year) were stationed at the very start of the walk. This gave us the opportunity to see wave after wave walkers as they started, still in a massive block. It really brought home the vast number of people who were taking part.

My role at this stage was to ensure walkers didn't walk in to the giant stone sculpture in the middle of the path or trip over the steps up to it. The security bikers were parked up with their fantastic bikes and played some tunes to get the walkers going. 500 miles though? At least they played it at the start, they might have got punched for playing it near mile 20.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.