Heron goes fishing

Early this evening on the boardwalk at North Chagrin Reservation, I fell into conversation with a man who was carrying a camera. He wondered if I had seen anything worthwhile, so I told him about the barn swallow and the male and female wood ducks with their babies. He mentioned seeing a Great Blue Heron the last time he visited, and I replied, "I haven't had much luck with herons this summer. They seem to be avoiding me."

Just then a heron flew low over the marsh and landed near the far side. My luck was about to change. By the time I reached the other side of the marsh, the heron was fishing for his supper, and he had chosen a good spot. If you want to know how the story unfolded, click here to see the rest of the story in my Smugmug gallery. That heron was a really skillful fisherman.

I had fish for supper too, but I didn't have to wade in the murky water to catch it. My fish was left over from last night's delicious dinner of tilapia with pasta, warm Italian bread, and wine from a great little Italian restaurant. I think my dinner was better than the heron's. I don't know where the day has gone, but it is getting late. No more time for blipping tonight. See you tomorrow Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.