...Wimbers

Yes, so much for choosing to stay with friends that live less than four miles away from the All England Lawn Tennis Association. I allowed double the prescibed time on the TFL website to get myself to the end of the queue, to meet up with the usual posse, but fell foul of a heavily congested route that the 219 bus travels along. It took nearly an hour to get to Wimbledon Station and then a further 45 minutes to get to the aforementioned end of the queue. I was not happy to be a thousand or so people behind the rest of them and after much to-ing and fro-ing, I managed to sit with them for part of the wait, but did as I should and re-joined my own place in the queue when it started to move as the gates were opened.

A slight discussion with the over-enthusiastic security bods then ensued as I made it to the last leg of the long wait, as they told me I couldn't take the quantity of alcohol that was in my bag in with me. The girl that opened my bag couldn't count how many tins there were (there were 12), let alone work out the total ml content of them all, so called a colleague over to work it out for her. I kept my increasingly bad mood in check, as I convinced them that the food and drink I was carrying was in fact for six people, and not just me and that the other five people were 1000 people ahead of me and therefore probably perched on Henman Hill. It's a new rule that has snuck into their leaflet, and apparently their website, which prohibits someone from carrying more than one bottle of wine, or two 500mls tins of alcohol in per person. He said he would do me a favour by letting me off, on this occasion. Let's just say he did himself a favour by letting me through...

It was a super day after that! Cracking weather, company, tennis and of course, every last drop of the Pimms (in the tins) was savoured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.