Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A Favorite Place

Tomorrow I report in at the campus to supervise the Writing Center. The summer session is 4-days a week (M-Th). Tomorrow will begin Week 2 of the summer session. Then the following week I will work Tuesday through Thursday because Monday will be part of the July 4th holiday weekend. Then the extent of my summer employment will be accomplished. I haven't been to the campus since graduation on June 10th, so it will be interesting to see the construction progress on the new building. It was just about finished the last time I was there.

We are about to do a little more construction here at home. The fountain area of our backyard will soon be enlarged because the fence builder that I mentioned the other day will be building a new fence just beyond the fireplace. So the new wall will align with the front corner of our house. I don't know the exact measurements, but I think the wall will be about 15 feet closer to the front yard. Then the existing wall will be trimmed to the same height as the existing planter wall on the left side of my photo. I've wanted to do this for a long time. So this is quite exciting for me.

So in another week or two I hope to blip an entirely expanded fountain area. Today that area looks like it needs some tender loving care. I've spent entirely too much time in the pool and not nearly enough time sweeping or gardening. I guess that's admitting that I'm not very balanced . . . I'd rather play than work. Darn, I wasn't going to confess that!

As long as I'm confessing, I'll admit that I haven't had much time in Blipfoto lately. If I had a waterproof laptop, I could sit in the spa and browse all my favorite places in Blip, so I am hoping to do some of that this week while I am quietly overseeing the Writing Center at school.

Today we attended the graduation party and lunch for Lia right after church. Lia is one of the female lead singers and guitar players in the praise team. We've known her since she was a tiny-tot and she has grown into a lovely young woman, so it was more than fun to watch many people in our small church honor her with gifts and congratulations on her high school graduation.

This afternoon we also stopped and looked at more barbecue islands hoping to find something that will be just right for our backyard. It is still more confusing (too many options) and more expensive than either one of us wants to deal with. So the good old Weber barbecue will continue to be our grilling friend.

Hope you have a great last week of June. Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.