Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

St Mary & St Thomas of Canterbury, Knebworth

Another church for you today. While investigating yesterday's blip St Peter's Church I came across the details on this one. It's in Knebworth Park, the grounds of Knebworth House with its oldest parts dating from 1120. Originally it was at the heart of the mediaeval village of Knebworth, when Knebworth Park was created, most probably in the late 13th century, the former settlement was relocated about ½ kilometre to the south, leaving only the church and some earthworks as evidence for the mediaeval village.

So once again packed up the camera and tripod and cycled off.

While wandering round the graveyard I met a lady who was "visiting" her mum, she asked me if I had any idea why the church is always locked these days. Obviously I didn't, but she told me she was christened here, got married here and her mum's buried here. She used to have a few moments of contemplation inside the church when visiting but these days the church is always locked. I can understand why, but that doesn't make it right. It's a problem for society that I'm not going to be able to solve. Hopefully my suggestion that she should enquire if there's a key somewhere that she can use or be let in can solve her problem for the next visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.