Ladyblahblahs

By ladyblahblahs

Glory, a bit of shame and a lot of responsibility.

As I walked into Sainsburys today, I spotted these orchids straight away. This particular plant stood head and shoulders about the other timid little things and I felt compelled to buy it.

As I was reaching up for it (I'm a bit of a short arse so it required a bit of strategy to get it off the top shelf) I noticed that my daughter was legging it out of the supermarket door. I took a step back to call her and as I turned back, another woman was reaching for my orchid! Before I could think about what I was doing I let out a disappointed 'Oh!' which was clearly audible to her as we then began attempts to out-manner each other 'you take it', 'no you take it', this went back and forward a couple of times until I decided I should just bite her hand off. I could see disappointment etched on her face as she carried one of the more drippy looking orchids over to the till. Shame on me for being so childish.

It was only when I heard it clunk down on the back seat of the car on the way home that I realised what a responsibility it all was. Imagine if I kill it after stepping outside of my usual polite boundaries!

It is glorious though, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.