Wendy's World

By Wendles56

1840s Street

I think sometimes we don't appreciate it what is under our noses. Today I took an hour off from marking to wander into the wood at the end of our street to practise my landscape blipping. Badger Wood (named by our daughters when they were small) fills two sides of a deep valley and spills out now onto the moor at either side so a circular walk took me from the sun-dappled paths of the wood, up onto the heather and bilberry moorland, back down through Peter's smallholding and onto our street. It's beautiful!

This blip (my first excursion into black & white) is taken from Peter's field as I tried to avoid his herd of bullocks. Our street was built in the 1840s and if you took out the modern streetlamps and the odd for sale sign (and didn't look too closely at the pvc windows!) things probably haven't changed much. No doubt some eagle eyed blipper will spot a jumbo jet crossing to the airport (and yes I have seen the electricity pylons!)

This is what our street looks like in colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.