La vida de Annie

By Annie

Peace and Ecology Festival...

... today, organised by the Merseyside Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament and held at St. Luke's ("bombed out") church in Liverpool.

My bellydance group, now named "Al-najoum" (the stars) for the event, were first up. I didn't take part, having missed too many practice sessions recently, but did join in the free dance/audience participation segment of Shakira's "Hips don't lie", a personal favourite which I did throw myself into wholeheartedly, it must be said. The lovely long red-haired temptress is not me but our extremely talented tutor Dee, and would you believe she is actually 71 years young? Hope I look that good at that age (no ageist jokes from you-know-who please).

The guy with the woodwind instrument is Wandering Willy of Willy's Wanderers, a trio including concertina and guitar. There's a joke in there too somewhere.

One of the organisers saw my camera and asked if I was from FAB Collective. I wish, said I, I'm nowhere near good enough. As long as you have the eye it doesn't matter, said he, and asked me to send in any photos I'm happy with for next year's posters. We'll see....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.