Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Cheety Cat and Blue Bear

It rained and rained all day long, so Mum had to find something for us to do indoors. She took me to the ceramic experience and it was fab! Auntie Katie came too. She made the silver cheety cat* and I made the blue bear. Mum helped me a bit, but I chose all the colours myself. Because it was the first time we had been, we just used acrylic paint so that I could take my bear away with me. Next time we will try ceramic paints and leave it for the lady to fire in the kiln. After we had finished painting with our paintbrushes, Mum and Auntie Katie had a cup of tea and I played in the soft play area. I had it all to myself at first, but then some bigger girls came in and scared me away. One of them was mean to me and wouldn't let me in the ball pit. It was time to go home anyway, but before we left the lady sprayed blue bear with glitter to make him even more special!

When we got outside I did something I've never done before when leaving a place - I burst out crying! Mum asked me why I was crying and I told her "I don't know why!" To cheer me up, Auntie Katie said that I could keep her silver cheety cat.

*"Cheety cat" is a phrase used around these parts, in much the same way as other people would use the term "kitty cat". It's a Scottish colloquialism, but I think possibly confined to west coast Scotland (working in Edinburgh, I quite frequently find that I use words that even other Scottish people have never heard of!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.