Fisherking

By Fisherking

INSTITUTIONALISED?

To many people this is who I am, It is my number plate, also my room number and identifier at work, mainly (in a slightly different format) my email address and 13KG is my angling club membership number. When I bought the plate my wife's response was "Boy are you institutionalised" but no one else batted an eyelid. I'm so associated with room 13 that when we wanted to re-number the whole building the entire process hinged on my room remaining as 13. A few years ago I was asked to move rooms, which I did reluctantly but I took the number with me and made such a fuss I was back in the original R13 within a month.

It's a good job I'm not a triskidecaphobic.

To others I am Kieran, Sir, Mr.G. Dad, Dearest, Son, Cap and Gown, El Preidente, probably several unflattering terms and to one lady only Goldie.

Today was a strange one, it's the last day of term, the start of six weeks holiday. I should be elated but instead I'm a bit flat, it couldn't be because I won't see most of the people I work with or the pupils for ages could it? Perhaps it's because two long standing colleagues retired today and I'm slowly edging to the top of the tree, there's only about 4 staff older than me now and I used to be the scary one but now the young staff think I'm the teddy bear. Maybe it's because my son and heir has finally left home at the age of 26, who will I talk about sports and things with now? I'm in a house of females, the Boss, the daughter and the cat, I'm way down the pecking order.

HELP!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.