Loney Girl

By loneygirl

Unspoken words

I passed by our town's public cemetery and I chanced upon the gate keeper ready to close up for the day. I park across the street and he looks towards me as I roll down my window. I point my fingers at my camera to suggest to him if it's alright to take pictures and he gives me a nod. So here he is posing proudly in front of his place of work. After a few shots, I wave to him and silently articulate the words "thank you" and he waves back as he starts to lock the gates. As I drove along, I found myself smiling at what had just transpired between two strangers, Mr. Gate Keeper and myself. No words spoken but the message came across loud and clear. I guess in his line of work, he is quite used to the silence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.