wonderfulworld

By wonderfulworld

At sea with Croagh Patrick

It is time to leave Mayo, the weather is warm and sunny and I am reluctant to get on the road back to the East and home. My friend suggests a swim before making the journey, she has to work again, so we say our goodbyes and I head towards Westport. I will decide when I get there what to do.

The weather was still nice so I steer towards Murrisk, back to the town at the foot of Croagh Patrick where I had seen signs for Bertra Beach. I park and let my mood dictate whether I swim or not. Looking out at the gentle lapping of the aqua green blue of the Atlantic, I am overcome with a desire to plunge into its waters. So, after an awkward change in the car, I emerge less decently dressed than when I arrived, but ready to submerge myself.

The cold was quickly overtaken by the cleansing feeling of total submersion in this vast salty ocean. Looking back towards the shore was this amazing view of the great Croagh Patrick.

It was a great start to the 3 and a half hour trip back to Dublin and then on to Wicklow, with a stop over to visit my parents.

I have rediscovered the beauty of my own country in this short stay in Mayo. My sympathy for my friend who has been dragged over to the West for work from her home in Wicklow, waned considerably....sorry I. But thanks for a great stay in your new home in Newport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.