L's world

By Lal

day 3 - rained off

Another summer day in Scotland, which obviously meant more rain, the day's are beginning to feel more Autumnal than Summer of late. And as it rained pretty much all day, my plans for today's blip was cancelled before they even started.

So day 3 of the 'textile's' inspired theme was pretty much a spur of the moment one. As I looked out all the different bits and bobs I was going to need to get my plan B blip sorted I come across this piece of silver/grey chiffon. The chiffon (along with these) was part of a spur of the moment purchase after being in a fabric store in Glasgow City Centre one day. This piece of chiffon was pleated and ruched, and was made to go into a panel on a dress I had started making for the end of year fashion show/exhibition at college. The picture doesn't do it justice, it's one of those you have to see with your own eyes and to be able to touch it to get the full beauty of it.

This picture came as a total fluke, after taking so many snaps of it, trying to capture the movement and depth of it, and the different colours it takes on depending on the light, the best image I got from the whole experience was the one when I literally dumped the fabrics on a chair as I was about to put it all away....typical!

Now I'm off to go make stuff's to go along with this theme...oh how nice it is to be back making thing's after so long :)

L x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.