Meles

By meles

From the train home

Ah, home at last. Hurray! A cormorant sitting in the middle of the Water of Leith, a washing machine already doing my dirty laundry and best by far, DaveH in a fluorescent jacket through the door from his diggings. Oh, and fresh green stuff to eat!

I was so tired and eager to get home when I boarded the train in Milton Keynes this morning that I didn't appreciate my ticket saying simply "Edinburgh". I assumed that I would have to change trains at Crewe as usual and wasn't really paying attention to the announcements on the tannoy. (Tsk, tsk!) So I was somewhat startled to look out of the window and see this - oh, it must be Birmingham. Good, I thought - no waiting around at Crewe station looking for something else to blip.

But this unremarkable shot is a memo to self (and possibly Old Bat) not to be beguiled by this direct train in the future. Apparently it only runs in the summer, directly from Euston to E'burgh - but was horribly overcrowded (particularly with luggage) all the way. By the time we'd crossed the border there were only two toilets left working on the entire train. Eeeuuw!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.