Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Who Do You Think You Are?

Was playing in our clubs Mens Doubles Tournament today - good, close game, but we lost.

Took this photo on the walk back home, it reminded me of the Who Do You Think You Are? tree. This is a UK TV program where celebrities trace their family tree. There's also an American version also shown in the UK and in fact Mrs L's has just put on the one on Susan Sarandon so I'm taking this as a sign I should do a Who Do You Think You Are? blip.

I find the program fascinating, the stories they dig up on the lives of their ancestors. I'd love to trace my own family tree and you'd think that now I'm retired I'd spend some time on it - but I won't - I have a problem - I'm adopted.

Being adopted doesn't stop me tracing my family tree, just complicates it. Mum and Dad brought me up, but I share no blood line with them so whatever ancestry I traced would not be in my genes. Some years ago I traced my birth mother and we met up and she even met up with Mum and Dad, we all got on really well. The only problem was she was only over here for a short time before returning with her husband to her two daughters and son in Australia. We corresponded, but unfortunately she died before we could ever meet again, I remain in touch with her family. My birth father died seven months before I was born, I don't think his family know of my existence. So although there is a blood line I could investigate, I won't. Mum and Dad were my parents, I met my birth mother and I have two half sisters and a half brother in Australia - that's enough of a family tree for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.