SAH on Blipfoto

By sahfotoblip

Arriving in Johannesburg... thank goodness for the

We arrived in to Johannesburg this morning only delayed by 30 minutes in the end which wasn't bad.

We managed to reclaim our luggage and get through security swiftly and down to the car hire desk to pick up what we thought was going to be a VW Sedan and has turned out to be a Toyota Corolla Saloon... I think we came off well in all honestly.

It then took us nearly 2 hours to find cousin R, his wife L's parents house which is our accomodation tonight. M bless her had got her bearings all a skew whiff and that caused a few tensions between her and R to which I was oblivious as I was out for the count in the back! Once I was awake we ended up resorting R's iphone and the map app! Got us there within no time after that... modern technology!

A little bit of concern that my legs were quite swollen from the flight at this point in the day. Mmm

After food, a walk for R and I (to help my blood circulation for my legs), a freshen up we took M to see her very long time friend RC who she trained as a nurse with 54 years ago. M got her bearings again a bit skew whiff but this time she wasn't far out but it was my iphone this time that proved its worth. I suspect it was the knowing she was seeing RC that was getting M in a bit of a tiz as RC has been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer and well... its a devastating disease as I found out with my Dad 2 years ago nearly. As that is what he had. She had a few very valuable hours with her and its all too much and too raw for me so after courteous hello's R and I went to Nelson Mandela Square to do a bit of the touristy bit for my sake. He's wishing we had more time to spend here in Jo'burg and so am I but there are some really exciting bits to come and we did the one thing I really wanted to do.

We picked M up with no bother and went back for a scrumptious dinner, sorted our route out for the next 4 days, stop overs and potential head resting places. All is good!

Looking forward to tomorrow.

Pleased now at the end of the day my legs are back to normal... phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.