From Where One Stands

By cassandra

A moment

This wasn't the best photo I took yesterday at all.
But it means something, and I kinda like it. Which are as good a reasons for posting as any, right?

Yesterday was The Man's birthday. And we went out last night for a bite to eat and a few drinks in my town. My town which I despise. Which I never go into unless I absolutely cant help it.

But there is a lovely canal system and basin, which have been done up over the last few years. Yet I never go there, because it is my town, and I dislike it immensely.

But last night I wanted to take The Man out and what he wanted was a quiet night out, a walk and a bite to eat, away from everything and particularly away from thinking about his house. And this is a HUGE thing. Bigger than I could every explain. So we wandered into town, along the canals and through the basin. We had some nice pub food and drinks, and then stopped at a pub by the river on the way back.

It was dropping dark when we left and wandered back to the basin, and that is when I took this shot. I loved the sky and wanted to get the clock tower in too, and The Man stood with me and gave his thoughts on what to take and what he thought would look good. And I loved this, it was a really lovely moment.

And, ok, I certainly have a long way to go when it comes to mastering nighttime photography, but this photo is all about the colours in the sky, the clock tower and THAT moment.
Which is why I love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.