Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

St Michael and All Angels

I had a tour of this church on a heritage open day last year, when my daughter and I climbed to the top of the tower, and looked out over our town.

I was surprised to find how beautiful it really is inside. The nave of the church is dominated by a nineteenth-century three deck pulpit. This is placed half way along the north side with the pews facing towards it rather than the altar. The pews themselves are boxed with small doors for access. They are of different sizes and would have been reserved for particular families, with the better-off families nearer the front.

There is a separate entrance that was used only for the most prominent family at that time. Their own staircase took them straight to their place in the gallery!

St Michael's Church has some of the best examples of fifteenth century stained glass left in Britain.

I intended to take a shot from the car park, only to find that it is used for general parking everyday. The town has been built around the church, so this was the best shot I could get today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.