Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Gas Station

It was back to the mundane today after yesterday's heady excitement. Not much chance of people photography on the streets of Riverside; it's too damned hot.

I set off on in a different direction for my 30-minute photographic safari this morning. I guess Gas Station by Edward Hopper must have been pricking my sub-conscious and I stopped to take this shot of a food store and filling station.

I think it was the vermilion of the gas pumps in the morning light that first caught my eye.

The only things this photo shares with Hopper's modern masterpiece is that a) it features a gas station and gas pumps; and b) a reddish colour figures prominently.

Come on, you didn't really expect artistic genius, did you? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.