Rosalita

I drove up to Charlottesville, passing into the foothills of the Blue Ridge to see some very good friends this evening.

It's been about a year since last time I saw Will and Julie, and now for the first time Rosalita, their baby daughter. She is the most good natured baby I have met in a long time, never crying nor making a fuss, only crawling, giggling, and taking everything in with the most amusing quixotic expressions. She jiggles with baby fat and is cherubic as a rosy cheeked little munchkin. Her name is suiting.

Will and Julie left her with an aunt down the street while we went downtown for dinner at a funky diner place before catching some music in the park and slurping on cherry vanilla milkshakes walking the sidewalks packed with Friday night people. It's so great to see these guys again. We have always been on the same wavelengths, which unfortunately always seems difficult for me to find in Virginia.

Having a night off from family and baby chores seems like a revelation and new lease on life for them, especially Julie. I get the impression they don't have the opportunity to get out much these days and feel like regular people. So I think they were very grateful to have me come and visit. We're hoping to do some hiking trips in the weeks to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.