This time for Africa....

By abbiSA

Winter Awareness

I took this picture today after leaving Afrikaans class. I was obviously on the hunt for food (cereal, gum and dried apples). I think that at this point I have cleaned everywhere out of those apples:( literally went three places and read out of stock until further notice signs at every one.
Anywhoooo this picture is of a scene I see almost daily that I find to be very interesting. Usually three to four young adults like the ones depicted above, stand behind this Irish pub called Brazen Head. They wear those lime green shirts and follow you trying to pass you pamphlets and urging you to get tested for HIV. Given South Africa's history with HIV and AIDs, as well as the widespread controversy after President Zuma's 2006 "shower" remarks. I find it to be very positive that they are pushing getting tested and using protection.....
It was a beautiful winter day in Stellenbosch today. The sun kept it warm, but night still proves to be VERY chilly....I just can't wait for leaves to spring on those trees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.