Mrs Bear

By mrsbear

L'Alpe

Et voila. L'Alpe d'Huez. It's a week til our races here, so HB and I drove over with M.Custard to try out our race routes. I had the 'easy' option - a mere 40k to/from and UP the Alpe. The boys had 100k with three cols to climb, ending with the Alpe. A memorable day for all given the way we all felt at the end!

The drive home was a bit of a giggle. We realised that we were cutting it fine to get back to the campsite by 10pm, before the barrier came down. So I drove like billy-o (who's billy-o!!?) to get back in time. Funny thing was that we were listening to some crazy, pacey, south american music HB had found and, what with us being almost deliriously tired by this time, all we could do was laugh at every obstacle in our way.. people in the road! a dog! I will probably never be able to convey how much fun that last part of the journey back was, so I will just smile and remember.. What a day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.